Now in Print & eBook: Shadow Notes by Connecticut Author Laurel S. Peterson

Shadow Notes front cover. Artwork by Stephanie Bibb FlintBarking Rain Press announced the paperback and eBook release of the riveting thriller Shadow Notes: A Clara Montague Mystery by Connecticut author Laurel S. Peterson. Shadow Notes is the first book in the Clara Montage Mysteries series; a second book is planned. Peterson’s other works include the poetry chapbooks That’s the Way Music Sounds and Talking to the Mirror.

Click here to download this press release

Click here to download this press release

Clara Montague didn’t want to go home to Connecticut for Christmas. Her mother Constance never seemed to like her—or her intuitive dreams about the people she loved. Clara tried to warn her mother that her father was about to have a heart attack, but Constance wouldn’t listen—and her father died. Now living in Europe, Clara dreams her mother is in terrible danger, and can’t ignore it. Shortly after she returns, her mother’s therapist (and former lover) Hugh Woodward is murdered—and Constance is jailed for the crime.

Since Constance won’t talk to her about the case, Clara decides to investigate by cozying up to her mother’s former best friend, wealthy socialite Mary Ellen Winters. Mary Ellen insinuates that Constance has many sordid secrets to hide—and Hugh is just the tip of the iceberg. Frantically seeking clues to her mother’s hidden past, Clara uncovers the file of “shadow notes” that Hugh maintained to document his sessions with her mother, but they are snatched from her hands before she can read them. As Clara gets closer to the truth about Hugh’s murder and its connection to her mother’s past, threats against her own life escalate. Can Clara’s intuition help her peel back years of high-stakes secrets to identify the real murderer?

Ask for Shadow Notes at your favorite bookstore, or buy it online at the Barking Rain Press website,, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-Million, Powells, Waterstones, and many other Internet bookstores. It is also available as an eBook through Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, iTunes iBooks, Kobo, Content Reserve/Overdrive, the Barking Rain Press website and many other outlets worldwide.

Click here to preview the first four chapters of Shadow Notes right now.

SHADOW NOTES: A Clara Montague Mystery

Series: Clara Montague Mysteries, Book 1

BISAC Genre Codes:
FIC022100 — FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Amateur Sleuth
FIC022040 — FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
FIC031010 — FICTION / Thrillers / Crime

BIC Genre Codes:
FH — Thriller/Suspense
FF — Crime & Mystery

LCCN: 2016939879

Trade Paperback (232 pp)
ISBN-13: 978-1-941295-45-8
ISBN-10: 1-941295-45-2
Retail Price: $13.95 USD
Distributors: Ingram, Bertram Books, Gardners Books

eBook (ePub, Kindle, PDF)
ISBN-13: 978-1-941295-46-5
ISBN-10: 1-941295-46-0
Retail Price: $5.95 USD
Distributors: Content Reserve/Overdrive, Ingram

# # #